The Eben Dale Sutton Room was created with the October 1866 donation of Eliza Dustin Sutton in memory of her son Eben Dale Sutton who died in 1862 at the age of 14. With her $20,000 donation to the Peabody Institute Library, The Sutton Room was completed in 1869. As the first Reference Room of the Library, it was created to house books of "enduring value." The Eben Dale Sutton room now houses the Library's Archives.
Included in our collection are thousands of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, prints, artifacts and maps documenting life in South Danvers and Peabody from its earliest days. You can learn more about our collection in Holdings and Finding Aids.
For more information about The Local History Resource Center, please contact Erik Bauer, Archivist, at 978-531-0100 x34, or by email at email@example.com.
During construction, research in the Sutton Room must be conducted by appointment only. Please email the archivist at firstname.lastname@example.org for an appointment.
Researchers must sign in. Coats, bags and other items may need to be kept in lockers. Only pencils are allowed in research area. All research is supervised and cotton gloves may be required to protect documents. Any photocopying or scanning is done at the discretion of the Archivist. Digital cameras, laptop computers and scanners are permitted with Archivist's approval.
The City of Peabody, together with the Peabody Institute Library, the Peabody Historical Society and the George Peabody House have worked together to create Peabody MassArchives, online exhibits of our city's rich past.
Copyright © 2011 Peabody Institute Library. All rights reserved.